The Stormy Love Life of Laura Cordelais by Susan Hanniford Crowley Interview/Contest

Could it possibly be that time again?! Yes, my fellow Fang-Bangers we have the pleasure of getting to know Susan Hanniford Crowley author of The Stormy Love Life of Laura Cordelais!!

LIGHTNING
Being descended from an ancient race blessed by Zeus doesn’t help Telkhine Laura Cordelais, when she’s desperate and standing between life and death. Her destiny looks bleak. Every choice leads to death, and there is no winning door. Or is there?
THUNDER
Begging God for love, Vampire David Hilliard finds his request answered in the form of the tormented and dying Laura. In saving her, he falls in love and dooms them both to a dark underworld of voodoo and sorcery from which nothing can escape.
THE STORM BEGINS
Curses, Keres, demons, oh, my! And the unicorn’s horn.

My review on Goodreads..

“I love fantastical books that have a happy ending. I’m so glad David and Laura found that in each other. But needless to say, they had a hell of a ride to get there, I would have went insane if I went through all that. Now I know once I turn over to a vampire I need to stay away from a certain someone named Thomas, pesky unicorns. Death to all unicorns!”

I say off with all the unicorns heads!

Susan, thank you so much for the interview!! All the answers are so great 🙂

Interview

Nisy:  What triggered your writing career? Did you know it was going to be about Vampires?

Susan:  I started writing when I was eight.  My teacher in school had us keep daily journals.  I wrote about the squirrels in my back yard.  When I was around 12, I started reading science fiction and fantasy.  Years later I started writing science fiction and fantasy and getting published.  In 2007 when I was at the Nebula Awards Weekend in New York City, a friend suggested that I give paranormal romance a try.  She said, “I’ve read your stuff, honey, you’re really a romance writer.”  I had been dreaming about vampires and starting to write about them but from a science fiction take. After I read several paranormal romances, I absolutely love it and knew that’s what I wanted to write.  I rewrote my vampire/supernatural book THE STORMY LOVE LIFE OF LAURA CORDELAIS from a new, very exciting adventure/romance view.  I didn’t know I would write about vampires until I dreamt of them. I’m still dreaming of them. 

 Nisy:  What would you say is the hardest part about writing your own work? Example: Love scenes, Relationship interaction and or Fight scene.

Susan:  Actually the hardest part of writing for me are the transitions between scenes.  I type as fast as I can to write down everything from the dream.  Sometimes I forget to write the transition of how I got from here to there.  Fortunately my critique partner a.c. Mason catches them.  What Mason doesn’t catch my editor, Gail, at Tease Publishing LLC finds.  I’m really grateful to both of them.

Nisy:  Are any of your characters/ places inspired by real life personal friends or places you’ve been?

 Susan:  New York City and New Orleans are both featured in THE STORMY LOVE LIFE OF LAURA CORDELAIS.  I’ve been to both places, love them.  I write my characters from dreams, so I don’t tend to pattern characters after people I’ve met.  Vampire David Hilliard is made a vampire when he lays dying on the field of war in Gettysburg.  I’ve also been there numerous times.  I went into the death records for the battle and found two other Hilliards died there.  In the book, I reference them as his brothers. Of course, David didn’t ‘die’ there because his body was never found. 

Nisy:  Who’s your favorite Character? Maybe someone you can relate to.

 Susan:   I love David, because he’s loyal, fun loving, and would die for Laura.  He’s great looking and extremely romantic.  He’s courageous and strong.  He’s so much fun with a wonderful sense of humor.  He shows up in each of the other ebooks in the Vampires in Manhattan series as a friend, and he’s absolutely the best friend anyone could have.  The way he loves—well, um, oh my.  LOL. 

 Nisy:  What sets you apart from every other author?

 Susan:  I don’t just write vampire romances.  I write about vampires, who have a secret society in Manhattan called the Arnhem Society, which was founded when Amsterdam was established as a colony.  The goal of the society is to encourage vampires to live in a modern age with all its conveniences and no longer prey on mankind.  The Arnhem Knights were established to protect humans in the city from vampire death and give assistance to supernaturals in trouble.  This contemporary vampire/supernatural world exists within our own and is very detailed with a rich history that has intriguing diferences from the vampire lore out there.  Then there are the subtle differences.

Did you know that while kissing a vampire you should NEVER stroke his fangs with your tongue?  If you do, you have just invited that vampire to have wild, unbridled sex with you.  Also in my world, lifemates feel warm to each other’s touch.  To everyone else, they are cold as ice.    

 Nisy: Do you have any inspirational words for any upcoming possible authors out there, which might want to get into publishing their own work?

 Susan:  Don’t get discouraged. Get educated through writers’ workshops and conferences.  There are great online critique groups out there.  Here’s two examples:  Romance Critters for romance authors.  Critters.org for science fiction, fantasy, and horror writers.  There are great resource websites too such as RWA National, Savvy Authors, and my website http://www.susanhannifordcrowley.com  where I post a new creative writing exercise every week.  Make sure to write every day if you can.  Schedule time for writing in your day.  Doing this will make it a habit.  If you have questions, feel free to ask in the comment box. 

Nisy:  Where can we find out more about you and your work?  Where can we purchase your books?

Susan:  There’s my website with its attached News blog  http://susanhannifordcrowley.com  

My romance author blog is http://nightsofpassion.wordpress.com

On Twitter, I’m SHCrowley.  On Facebook, I’m Susan Hanniford Crowley.

My publisher is at http://www.teasepublishingllc.com/

 Nisy, thanks so much for having me.

Now for the contest: 

Susan is giving away to one lucky commenter that says “I love vampires” in their comment a signed print copy of THE STORMY LOVE LIFE OF LAURA CORDELAIS.  This contest is open to residents of the US and CANADA only.  The deadline is

Monday May 9th, 12am Eastern.

Leave comments below*

 Good luck my fellow Fang-Bangers! vv

About nisykitty

I'm odd and eccentric. I'm weird yet cool, wait that all means the same right? I’m me!! I have a new found love, that I will never ever give up. It’s as fierce as Larissa Ione, Sherrilyn Kenyon, Kresley Cole and Jeaniene Frost’s love scenes. I ♥ books! Throw in some sexy HOT steamy Vampires and I’m golden. Every day is a learning experience and I'm open to the unknown. I'm thoughtful and caring, and said to have an old soul. I have moments when I don't know what I'm getting myself into, but 99% of the time it works out. This site along with my Fan page proves that. If you ever have a thought that crosses your mind DO IT! You never know what the outcome will be. (Positive thoughts, I don't need ill publicity) lol I'm grateful for all my friends I've made and the ones to come. I know I'm not alone, which is an emotion that’s indescribable. Vampires RULE and Werewolfs (except Alcide) drool! I’m also the brains behind Vampires Anonymous fan/website. We ROCK!!! Join the party, Bloody Mary’s all around! Oh yeah, did I mention I'm open minded? v--v
This entry was posted in Books, Contest, Paranormal, Reviews, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to The Stormy Love Life of Laura Cordelais by Susan Hanniford Crowley Interview/Contest

  1. My second “I love vampires” contest is up on http://www.susanhannifordcrowley.com
    Ends on May 29 11:59 PM EST. Click on the news page and follow the directions. Thank you.

  2. Susan Hanniford Crowley says:

    Congratulations, Kim Duncan! I will be emailing you.

    I want to thank everyone for entering the contest. I will be having another contest for a PDF ebook of THE STORMY LOVE LIFE OF LAURA CORDELAIS starting May 22nd on my website http://www.susanhannifordcrowley.com The book can also be purchased through my site or at All Romance Ebooks, Amazon Kindle, OmniLit, and Fictionwise.

    Thanks everyone. I just had loads of fun.

    –Susan

  3. nisykitty says:

    I want to congratulate Kim Duncan for winning Susan Hanniford Crowley’s The Stormy Love Life of Laura Cordelais!! *streamers* v–v

  4. Susan Hanniford Crowley says:

    I love that there’s so many vampire lovers. Yay! This is so much fun!
    –Susan

  5. Janel Mullins says:

    I love Vampires! i would love to read this!

Leave a Reply

